Combined Visa Eligibility Lists

On the 18th March 2018, the Australian Government released new lists covering the various visa subclasses in different pieces of legislation. To help you to understand what visa you may be eligible for based on your occupation we have created the table below. 

How to Use The Visa Eligibility Lists

If you are interested in a Subclass 186Subclass 189, Subclass 485 or Subclass 489FS (Family Sponsored) visa then you can use the first table directly.

If you are interested in a Subclass 190 or Subclass 489SS (State Sponsored) visa, then in addition to your occupation appearing on this list, you will need to check which States or Territories are currently sponsoring your occupation on our Skilled Nominated 190 Visa page or our Skilled Regional 489 Visa page.

For 482 (TSS) visas and 186 visas, there are Caveats on some occupations which are marked with a * in the table below. As the Caveats may frequently change, it is always wise to check the DOHA Caveat page regardless of your occupation.

The acronyms used in the last column of the table are listed in the Assessing authorities. The assessing authorities do not apply to the subclass 407 visa.

Visa Types

Visa subclass (stream or type)Represented in the table as
Employer Nomination Scheme (subclass 186) – Direct Entry and Temporary Residence Transition streams186
Skilled Independent visa (subclass 189) – Points-tested stream189 (PT)
Skilled Nominated visa (subclass 190)190
Training visa (subclass 407)407
Temporary Graduate visa (subclass 485) – Graduate Work485 (GW)
Skilled Regional (Provisional) visa (subclass 489) – Family nominated489 (F)
Skilled Regional (Provisional) visa (subclass 489 – State or Territory nominated489 (S/T)
Temporary Skill Shortage visa (subclass 482) – Medium-term streamTSS (M)
Temporary Skill Shortage visa (subclass 482) – Short-term streamTSS (S)